Alias Design 2013

So a few weeks ago I posted about all students having the access to thousands of pounds of free software from Autodesk. Now after downloading them I had no clue where to start with the programs, I had no idea what any of the buttons did or what could be achieved by using the software. So I began to start an online Tutorial on wikihelp:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Alias/enu/2013/Help/1869-Tutorial1869/1870-Learning1870

This was a good Tutorial, gives the option of video explanations or written ones and I would recommend them to anyone wanting to learn new software from scratch – I’ll be using it again!

Image

This tutorial was to show the basic of the software and to also build a handheld vacuum cleaner. When i saw the initial photo of the fully rendered product I was excited to get going with the ideology of “this wont be too hard” however I was wrong. I’ve used some CAD software before but this was a whole new level, however this specific one is industry standard so I have to start somewhere.

It started off by lining up and importing downloaded images from the tutorial which was easy enough as you were talked through it step by step. However I encountered problem even though I had someone telling me everything to do.

Image

As with any software, it can never be reliable and human errors play a large factor further down the line if they are not spotted early on. I must of done something wrong because I could not trim the back plate and the base curves weren’t connected.

Image

These screenshots show some of the stages I went through in the tutorial and what the product was looking like. I like these collages as it shows a clear path as to how it evolved so I’m glad I decided to take screen shots throughout the process.

Image

And this was the visualisation I got from my finished product. I didn’t seem able to put all the fancy features on for some reason such as the ground plane and the reflection and the lighting effects. These can be seen in the tutorial and make the final product look awesome!

Image

Overall, like with any new software, practice makes perfect and I will continue to work through online tutorials until I feel competent with the software. I would give that advice to anyone reading this and wanting to play around on any unfamiliar programs they come across and want to learn. If you happen to fancy giving this tutorial a go, send me pictures or links to your efforts and final renders as they no doubt will be better than mine.

…and if you haven’t already, go register and download your free software now:

http://www.autodesk.co.uk/adsk/servlet/pc/index?siteID=452932&id=19430913

~ by callumtyson on November 16, 2012.

2 Responses to “Alias Design 2013”

  1. looking good .. really going to have to try this software!!

Tell me what you think...

 
